Club Cricket Conference

Tuesday, 24th November 2020

The Conference Cup for the Bertie Joel Trophy 2018

11 January 2018

Following the successful introduction of this 'merged' competition last year, we are delighted to announce the draws for Round 1 and Round 2 for 2018, made today by the Chairman of CCC Competitions, Dipu Patel, and CCC Board Member, David Collier OBE (former Chief Executive of the ECB).

The final last year saw a 'clash-of-the-titans': Ealing CC v Sunbury CC, and as often happens in finals it was 'one-sided'. Sunbury winning by 100 runs, thanks to a magnificent 125 by their captain John Maunders. (scorecard) 

The Conference Cup was launched in 2009 when the firmly established Evening Standard Challenge Trophy lost its sponsors. Despite minimal funding, the time and effort put in by organisers and club secretaries alike generated some excellent cricket, well supported by a solid number of clubs in the M25 region. 

Worrying statistics prompted the suspension of The Conference Cup competition for a year in 2015 to allow further consultation after an unprecedented number of first-round conceded matches, and a planned re-introduction in 2016 was shelved after entry notices to clubs were too late for a sufficient number of clubs to enter.

Bertie Joel, who was one of the great characters of London cricket, founded the cup that bears his name in 1967. Since his death in 1996, the competition has been run successfully by a small committee. In 2016, the Bertie Joel Cup celebrated its 50th anniversary with a showpiece final between Wanstead CC and West Indies United CC, held at Sutton CC.

Our partnership enables the history of the Bertie Joel Cup, and indeed the beautiful trophy itself, to live on within our region's cricket circles.

37 clubs entered the competition for 2018.

Round 1, to be played on or before 27 May (Home team first):

1. Oxted & Limpsfield v Southall Dragons
2. Actonians v Barnes
3. Crouch End v North Two
4. Indian Gymkhana v Paragon
5. Bickley Park v Shenfield

Round 2, to be played on or before 17 June (Home team first):

1. Waltham v Reigate Priory
2. Aston Rowant v Finchley
3. Winner of Game 1 in Round 1 v Hornchurch
4. Winner of Game 3 in Round 1 v Cambridge Granta
5. Ealing v Sawbridgeworth
6. Bishop's Stortford v Winner of Game 2 in Round 1
7. East Molesey v Cockfosters
8. Wanstead v Harold Wood
9. Stanmore v West Indies United
10. Bromley v Winner of Game 4 in Round 1
11. Hoddesdon v Brentwood
12. Old Rutlishians v Radlett
13. Bexley v Acton
14. Sandwich Town v Winner of Game 5 in Round 1
15. Chingford v Fives & Heronians
16. Sunbury v Blackheath

Subsequent draws are similar to the FA Cup, hence winners do not know their next opponents, or whether drawn home or away, until the draw for the next round is made.

Round 3 to be played on or before 8 July
Quarter Finals to be played on or before 29 July
Semi Finals to be played on or before 19 August

Date and venue for the Final tba.

Our website page for all the previous results is here via an archive drop-down