Club Cricket Conference

Tuesday, 23rd April 2024

Club Cricket Conference are London 6's Champions

Now in its 2nd year, the London 6's International Cricket Competition took place on the 17 July 2012 on Southgate CC's Walker Cricket Ground.
Once again The Club Cricket Conference were invited to enter a side in this prestigious tournament that also consisted of teams such as the MCC Young Cricketers, London Tigers, Tigers All Stars, Tower Hamlet CC, Hackney CC, and the defending champions Narayangani Cricket Club, who once again travelled all the way from Bangladesh to take part, and who included all ex Bangladeshi test cricketers of recent years as well as one current test player in their team. 
The Club Cricket Conference team consisted of seven players - Chris Williams, Tahir Afridi, Liam Mitchell, Mike Burrell and three new but highly talented all rounder's from the newly affiliated leagues, (Bobby Sher Captain - South East Sunday Cricket League, Adeel Malik - Elliott Davis Cricket League and Tanweer Sikandar - Waltham Cricket Club) all of whom made a great impact with some dazzling hitting and bowling. The Club Cricket Conference team having had a slow start improved with every game thereafter beating the very strong MCC Young Cricketers in the semi final, and then the defending champions Narayangani Cricket Club in the final very comprehensively. The Club Cricket Conference's Adeel Malik was rightly named player of the tournament. The team  was well supported by senior committee members of the newly affiliated leagues, and certainly the team were a considerable force and thoroughly deserved to be crowned champions.   
The chief guests were Mustafa Kamal MP & President of the Bangladesh Cricket Board and John Barclay, Sussex and ex MCC President.   

This annual event also aims to raise funds to provide a cricket development programme for disadvantaged young cricketers in East London.
Overall a fantastic day for the Club Cricket Conference.