Club Cricket Conference

Wednesday, 22nd May 2024

Kent CL Divs 1&2 Win Sovereign Trophy

By Stan Nicholson

1 August 2013

In a reversal of fortunes from last year's final, the Kent Cricket League Divisions 1&2 XI beat the Essex League Divisions 1-3 XI by a substantial margin of 94 runs at Sawbridgeworth CC on Wednesday 31 July.

Early morning drizzle meant an hours delayed start at 12.00 noon. Essex won the toss, and decided to bowl. However there was no advantage from the pitch or early playing conditions, as Kent went for their shots, and maintained a run rate of 6.5 per over throughout their innings. Man-of the-Match, Leigh Walker of Bromley Common CC, dominated most of the innings with an outstanding 132. He was well supported by Michael Hales Jnr (62), & Zac Flack (48). 294 is a big target for any team.

Essex 'danger man', Joe Robbins was dismissed in the 3rd over, and despite a fifty from fellow opener Tom Phillippe, Essex found it difficult to build partnerships, and were always way behind the run rate, and wickets fell regularly after the drinks break. Ben Entacott of Linden Park CC took 4 wickets as Essex were all out for 199 in the 41st over.

Full scorecard here